Advice for a total novice

Fans and Thermals.
goon

Advice for a total novice

Post by goon » 05 Aug 2018, 11:34

Hi All,
I'm a new member, and total novice to RC flying. I'm a static scale modeller, but I have a bit more spare time now, and have always fancied a dip in to some soaring. I don't want to get too committed to space and tools but I do want to build my own aircraft - so I'm looking for a ready cut wood kit, preferrably with all the electronics and accessories included. (Apologies if this is against the general 'vibe' of the users here :) ) I'm thinking that an aircraft with a motor will be a good introduction.

I wonder what users think of this https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07 ... PYHB&psc=1 kit in regards to ease of build for a total novice, and in terms of an introduction to flying / soaring. OR, does anyone have any recommendations for a similar aircraft? I wouldn't mind buying the elements separately, but if I could avoid puzzling out all the things I need to get going it would be good.

Thanks for any help,
Gareth

Cliff Evans

Re: Advice for a total novice

Post by Cliff Evans » 05 Aug 2018, 11:55

looks reasonable, still a lot to get for it to finish it off but, yes looks ok! Don't think you get the motor, speed controller and radio! Although it shows it all, it is not clear that you get all of that, I would say not. Also I would get a half decent radio system with a recognised brand. Frsky for instance.

goon

Post by goon » 05 Aug 2018, 12:05

Hi Cliff,
Thanks for taking a look and taking the time to reply. There are several options of the kit, including one with radio, servoes, covering film, etc. for about £160.

Cheers,
Gareth

Cliff Evans

Post by Cliff Evans » 05 Aug 2018, 12:11

Hmmm, I would definately by the radio seperately. More expence I know but wirth it in the long run. The Frsky range are very popular and reasonably priced. https://www.t9hobbysport.com/frsky-taranis-q-x7s

Peter Balcombe