Don't forget to check your spam folder if you don't get an activation email after joining!!

Foka 4 (I/4 scale)

Let us all watch your new project progress.
Martynk

Foka 4 (I/4 scale)

Post by Martynk »

Hello

I am planning on building a 1/4 scale Foka 4 from my own plans. Construction will be mainly traditional i.e. Balsa and spruce - not a Glass Fus - but with sensible use of carbon where appropriate. For example spar caps and fuselage longerons. I have designed and built duration gliders in the past (both F/F and R/C), this is my first attempt at a scale glider

At the moment, I am at the design phase and pondering what to do about the wing sections - perhaps someone here can give me some guidance.

The original had a NACA 63(3)618 root tapering and transforming to a NACA 4415 at the wing. This equates to an 18% wing thickness at the root and 15% at the tip and I need to thin these down a bit but without losing the original design integrity and appearance too much. For example, the top of the wing blends into the top line of the fuselage which obviously, I need to maintain. My thoughts at the moment are along the lines of substituting the root with a NACA 63A612 and a NACA 63A511 at the tip. Using traditional construction means that I cannot go much thinner than this if I need a wing that will withstand a tow launch. The wingspan will be about 3.8m.

Alternatively, I could use something like an RG-15 which is well proven at model sizes - although this is much thinner again.

Any thoughts please? As I need to design/build the fuselage around the wing, the position of the wing joiner is quite essential.

Thanks

Peter Balcombe

Re: Foka 4 (I/4 scale)

Post by Peter Balcombe »

Martin,
Just a thought regarding wing thickness.
The Foka 4 has top & bottom scissor airbrakes, so if you are thinking of having this type of brake, you need to make sure the wings are thick enough at this point to get the mechanism in.