• Administrator
  •  
    Before your membership becomes valid, you will receive an email that must be answered.
    Please check your spam folder or this email.

Choosing a 2.4 gig system

Discussion about Tx, Rx, Servo's, Batteries, Chargers, and all the other things we like to talk about..
Moderator: VinceC
Nigel Argall

Choosing a 2.4 gig system

Post by Nigel Argall »

I’m sure this has been asked before but I’d love to hear your up-to-date advice and opinion.
I have a big birthday coming up (one with a ‘0’) and have the chance to finally join the 21st century and go over to 2.4 gig from 35 meg. I have been using the same JR kit for about 15 years and fancy the change because 1) existing set is creaking a bit and I don’t want to push my luck, 2) I like the idea of telemetry – getting height, battery voltage etc. Sounds potentially very nice and 3) I’m hitting the limit of my current set – I have to designate some gliders as power models just to get the mixes I want.
So... what to get? Just to clarify first as I have NO 2.4 experience:
A) I have to stick with the same brand – i.e. the days of having a JR TX talking to a Hitec RX are over? Is that right?
B) If a set is advertised as (say) ‘18 channel’ that really means 9 channels out to the model and (potentially) 9 channels of telemetry back – is that right?
Now... in terms of choice... JR have stopped so that is not an option.
Do I just go for one of the main brands? – I quite fancy Graupner.
Spektrum seem to be the dominant market brand but I’ve read articles with sponsored flyers saying ‘I only use this because I’m sponsored by them’ which to be honest is a bit off putting.