• Administrator
  •  
    Before your membership becomes valid, you will receive an email that must be answered.
    Please check your spam folder or this email.

Two batteries into an RX8R rx?

Discussion about Tx, Rx, Servo's, Batteries, Chargers, and all the other things we like to talk about..
Moderator: VinceC
Jolly Roger

Two batteries into an RX8R rx?

Post by Jolly Roger »

Is it ok to plug two LiFe rx batteries into an FrSky RX8R receiver, to get a kind of crude battery redundancy?

I appreciate there will be no diodes to prevent a failed battery draining the other one, but in my experience batteries fail open rather than short circuit.

Rog
Cliff Evans

Re: Two batteries into an RX8R rx?

Post by Cliff Evans »

I am no electronics expert but, for the sake of a few pennies, I would use the diode option! Depending upon how you value the model perhaps even £25 on a redundancy system like the Frsky. RB10 https://www.t9hobbysport.com/frsky-redundancy-bus-10

I am sure that someone will give an opinion or indeed the benefit of their knowledge to help you decide.
https://lasercutsailplanes.co.uk
https://patteaklegliders.co.uk
Barry_Cole

Post by Barry_Cole »

Diodes for me.....

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

BC
Peter Balcombe

Post by Peter Balcombe »

I agree.
Diodes are a simple & cheap method (although you lose a little voltage, which can be minimised by using Schottky diode types).
In my experience, a single cell will often go, causing low output - which then drags the other cells or any parallel connected battery down.
Diodes will simply cause the faulty battery to be isolated from the good (higher voltage) one.
terry white

Post by terry white »

Here, here. another one for diodes.
Jolly Roger

Post by Jolly Roger »

You're right folks, I'm being lazy. For the sake of a few minutes soldering, I'll wire an extension between each battery and rx with a diode on the +ve wire.
Do these look OK?

https://uk.farnell.com/multicomp/p600d/ ... KU-9564985

Thanks,
Rog
RobbieB